The Ugly Truth

“To those who understand life, that would have given a much greater air of truth to my story. For I do not want anyone to read my book carelessly.  I have suffered too much grief in setting down these memories.  Six years have already passed since my friend went away from me, with his sheep. If I try to describe him here, it is to make sure that I shall not forget him. To forget a friend is sad. Not everyone has had a friend.  And if I forget him, I may become like the grownups who are no longer interested in anything but figures…”

littleprince-cg-07152016

credits: nerdist.com

Out of the many quotable quotes and interesting phrases in the whole book, this is what piqued my interest. Now, admittedly there are quite a lot more striking sentences in the whole story but I chose this one. Why, you ask? It’s because of the truth lurking behind these words.

With that in mind, think about the last three sentences of this paragraph.

The first two sentences are very direct, with no other intention aside from informing you of the general truth. To forget a friend is sad. Yes, it is. It’s disheartening. But I know I don’t have to explain why it’s sad. We all have our experiences which are more than enough to make us realize why we feel sad every time we “forget” a friend.

Not everyone has had a friend. This, on the other hand, I could probably shed some light upon those people who don’t think this is true. Try to tell a person that you don’t have a friend and you’d get the I-don’t-believe-you look from them. Actually, this is true. I cannot be more thankful that I have loving friends. Sadly, not all of us are graced with that. Some people—socially awkward ones, most likely—find it hard to connect with people and be friends with them. Some get a hold of it and come around to being comfortable with people, but some just cannot. Perhaps a kind soul would accompany them to run errands a few times, go to the same place together, eat lunch. But that is not what I call a friend. It’s a person being kind. Eventually, maybe, they finally get to be friends, but in the few weeks before that moment, that person doesn’t have a friend. It’s sad, honestly. So remember this, do what you can in order to keep you friends.

I think I’ve said enough about that. I hope to recover from the unorganized thoughts I’ve carelessly put into words that you, in return, read because you either have to, or want to.

And if I forget him, I may become like the grownups who are no longer interested in anything but figures…

Every day we grow. Get older by the second.  Learn a bunch of things every minute that passes by. I, myself am aware of this, and I can no longer look away from the already apparent truth about being a young adult. I am only in my teenage years, but I am increasingly becoming more aware of the way things change as we approach adulthood. The last sentence of the paragraph I have chosen is one of the many unfortunate things that reinforce the aforesaid statement.

I have noticed some things with people as they age. First, and probably the most disturbing thing is that people do things because they need to do it, not because they want to do it. See, there’s a vast difference between the two. Most of us develop hobbies at a young age, and these hobbies are the things we want to do. Just like the aviator’s interest in drawing. But what happens? Adults often ridicule these things, or regard them as useless or irrelevant—just like the adults telling the aviator to stop drawing and learn things that would be of help to his life. I hate it when these things happen. Who knows what could have happened if he hadn’t stopped drawing?

Just like people nowadays, we can’t seem to find time to do the things that we want. We are all busy with work, school or business. I can say that adults, indeed, are no longer interested in anything but figures. Electric bill. Water bill. Thirteenth month pay. Tax. When something goes wrong with money—even the tiniest and most petty problems—the world becomes a heap of chaos and disarray. Blah. It’s not a very pleasing sight. I’m not saying it’s bad. It is okay to worry about money for good reasons, because you want to help your family and such. But please, don’t let it ruin you and your connection with people. I have seen relationships being severed by money and I tell you it’s not worth it.

Don’t value figures so much. It will destroy you.

One thought on “The Ugly Truth

  1. Beautiful thoughts! Your and Kent’s posts are considerably similar (in terms of adults being too busy), and it’s quite hitting me hard hehe. The first parts are also strikingly moving,on a personal note, as I don’t have many friends and the ones closest to me are not within my reach. Anyway, congratulations on this excellent post–as always!

    Like

Leave a Reply

